LSU’s Ed Orgeron joins Auburn’s Gene Chizik, different coaches to be fired after championship seasons



Ed Orgeron joined an unfortunate membership on Sunday as information broke that he and LSU reached an settlement to half methods following the 2021 school soccer season. This system’s choice to maneuver on from Coach O comes two years after he led the Tigers to the 2019 Faculty Soccer Playoff championship.

That LSU would transfer on from Orgeron is stunning — however not unprecedented, even within the time between his title and the Tigers’ choice to maneuver on from the embattled coach. Although Orgeron is not technically fired, he’s now one among a number of coaches — together with his predecessor, Les Miles, and former Auburn coach Gene Chizik — whose tenures have ended prematurely after profitable a championship.

MORE: Why did LSU fire Ed Orgeron?

Certainly, experiences counsel Orgeron’s championship crew — which ranks as probably the greatest of all time — was partly chargeable for his downfall in Baton Rouge. The Athletic experiences the sixth-year coach “misplaced monitor of who he was” following the 15-0 marketing campaign, main him to forgo the practices that made him a profitable coach within the first place.

With that, Sporting Information takes a have a look at the coaches whose tenures led to firing after beforehand profitable a nationwide title:

Gene Chizik (Auburn)

Championship season: 2010 (14-0)
12 months fired: 2012 (3-9)
Remaining file: 33-19

Chizik did not final lengthy following his 2010 championship season, headlined by Heisman Trophy winner and future No. 1 general choose Cam Newton. The Tigers went 8-5 the next season, however fell onerous in 2012, going 3-9 and getting hammered by rivals LSU, Georgia and Alabama by a mixed rating of 99-10. The ultimate straw was the Crimson Tide’s 49-0 romp over the Tigers within the Iron Bowl.

Although LSU’s choice to maneuver on from Orgeron was made sooner (at the least publicly), Chizik nonetheless holds the file for shortest time between a championship season and his firing: 686 days, which equates to 1 12 months, 10 months and 16 days. That is as a result of Auburn’s 3-9 file in 2012, which saved the Tigers from bowl eligibility for the primary time since 2008.

LSU’s 2021 common season ends on Nov. 27, 2021, which is 685 days faraway from Orgeron’s championship season — a distinction he probably would not need to take from Chizik. LSU (4-3, 2-2 in SEC play) wants solely two extra wins to stay bowl eligible this season, which might lengthen Orgeron’s keep in Baton Rouge at the least two extra weeks. That mentioned, it isn’t sure whether or not he could be allowed to educate the bowl sport.

Les Miles (LSU)

Championship season: 2007 (12-2)
12 months fired: 2016 (2-2)
Remaining file: 114-34

Orgeron is LSU’s second straight coach to get fired after profitable a championship. The primary was Miles, whose 2007 Tigers crew is the primary and solely crew within the trendy school soccer period to win a championship with two losses. Miles got here near profitable one other title 4 years later, however was blanked 21-0 by Alabama within the 2012 BCS championship sport in New Orleans after beating the Crimson Tide 9-6 within the common season.

Miles went 10-3 in 2012 and ’13, respectively, however by no means once more sniffed a championship. He went 8-5 and 9-4 in 2014 and ’15, respectively, however burned a big quantity of goodwill for his lack of ability to beat Alabama coach Nick Saban following the 2011 season. After his crew began 2-2 in 2016 with a loss to Auburn, LSU made the choice to fireside him and place Orgeron as this system’s interim coach.

MORE: LSU’s 11 best coaching candidates to replace Ed Orgeron

Phillip Fulmer

Championship season: 1998 (13-0)
12 months retired: 2008 (5-7)
Remaining file: 151-52-1

Fulmer’s 1998 squad gained the primary BCS championship in school soccer historical past, even after Peyton Manning left college early to turn out to be the No. 1 general choose within the NFL draft. Fulmer’s Volunteers remained aggressive following the championship season, solely twice falling beneath .500 from 1999 by means of his firing in 2008. He additionally led Tennessee to 4 double-digit win seasons in 2001, 2003-04 and 2007, seasons through which his crew gained the SEC East division championship.

Like so many SEC coaches, Fulmer’s firing coincided with the arrival of Saban at Alabama. The Crimson Tide beat Fulmer’s Vols in three of his last 4 seasons in 2005 and 2007-08. Saban’s Alabama crew beat Fulmer face to face in each their matchups: 41-17 in 2007 and 29-9 in 2008. That file, compiled with Fulmer’s 5-7 file in 2008, led to Fulmer stepping down, 10 seasons faraway from his championship.

Larry Coker

Championship season: 2001 (12-0)
12 months fired: 2006 (7-6)
Remaining file: 60-15

Coker’s profession at Miami could not have began higher: He inherited Butch Davis’ uber-talented Hurricanes squad, which went 11-1 the 12 months prior and completed the season ranked ranked second within the nation. The 2001 had no drawback working the desk, going 12-0 en path to the Hurricanes’ first nationwide championship since 1991. Miami got here desperately near repeating in 2002, however misplaced to Ohio State in a controversial extra time end, maintaining the Hurricanes from the top of school soccer.

Coker was in a position to depend on the expertise he had inherited for one more good season in 2003, one through which his crew went 11-2 however misplaced to No. 10 Tennessee and No. 18 Virginia Tech. Coker didn’t win double-digit video games once more, going 9-3 in 2004 and ’05. He was fired the day Miami beat Boston Faculty to salvage a 6-6 file, although the Hurricanes allowed him to educate the Hurricanes to a 21-20 win over Nevada within the MPC Computer systems Bowl — a far cry from the nationwide title aspirations of this system.

MORE: College football polls: Updated AP Top 25, Coaches Poll rankings after Week 7

Woody Hayes

Championship seasons: 1954 (10-0), 1957 (9-1), 1968 (10-0)*
12 months fired: 1978 (7-4-1)
Remaining file: 205-61-10
Championships voted on by both AP Prime 25 or Coaches Ballot

Not like others on this listing, you possibly can pinpoint the precise second Hayes’ tenure ended at Ohio State: It got here when he punched Clemson participant Charlie Bauman within the 1978 Gator Bowl in what ended up being a 17-15 loss for Hayes’ Buckeyes.

The next day, Ohio State introduced Hayes’ firing. Had he not assaulted an opposing participant, it is probably he would have remained on at Ohio State for so long as he would have appreciated. In spite of everything, he had three championships awarded by both the AP or Coaches polls, and two extra awarded by the FWAA. Because it stands, his tenure ended 10 seasons after his final Related Press championship in 1968.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here