SEC officiating blows one more name in Auburn win vs. Georgia State



SEC officers have one more questionable name to elucidate, this time in No. 23 Auburn’s 34-24 win over Georgia State on Saturday.

This week’s ruling got here late within the fourth quarter, with the Tigers (4-0) trailing the 1-3 Panthers 24-19. On first-and-10, quarterback TJ Finley appeared to attach with John Samuel Shenker on a 19-yard completion to the Georgia State 11 with 1:13 remaining.

MORE: Memphis’ wild punt-return TD vs. Mississippi State counted only because of officials’ mistakes

Officers dominated it a catch on the sphere, however the name went to SEC headquarters in Birmingham, Ala., for an official assessment. There, officers ought to have seen the ball hit the turf, negating the play and making it second-and-10 for Auburn on the Georgia State 30.

As a substitute, officers confirmed the play because it was referred to as on the sphere, giving Auburn a significantly simpler distance to journey for the eventual game-winning landing. The Tigers acquired into the top zone on fourth-and-9 with 45 seconds remaining. Finley accomplished a cross to Shedrick Jackson for the latter’s first profession landing, giving Auburn a 27-24 lead:

Georgia State had an opportunity to tie the sport or take the lead with underneath a minute remaining, however Auburn’s Smoke Monday intercepted Darren Grainger and returned it 36 yards for a landing to make the rating extra presentable for the Tigers.

MORE: Penn State forced to punt vs. Auburn on third down due to officiating error, SEC acknowledges

The questionable name comes at a very unhealthy time for SEC officiating, which earned loads of unhealthy PR through the week after blowing calls in two Week 3 nonconference video games. The primary — and most egregious — was permitting a Memphis participant to return a punt towards Mississippi State after the play had been referred to as lifeless. The Tigers went on to win 31-29; a few of the officers in that contest additionally referred to as Saturday’s Auburn-Georgia State recreation.

Later within the day, the SEC crew calling Auburn at Penn State mistakenly eliminated a down, inflicting Penn State to punt on what was, in truth, third down. That mistake didn’t show expensive because the Nittany Lions went on to win 28-20. That was of little consolation to Penn State coach James Franklin, who might solely say, “Thank God” when speaking about how his workforce would have a Massive Ten officiating crew in Week 4.

MORE: Notre Dame vs. Wisconsin final score, results: Fighting Irish explode in fourth quarter for huge win




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here