Low voter turnout recorded in high-voltage Bhabanipur by-poll seat



Low voter turnout was recorded in high-voltage Bhabanipur by-poll seat from the morning, amid triangular battle being witnessed between West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal and CPI-M candidate Srijib Biswas. Polling occurred in Murshidabad’s Samserganj and Jangipur.

The high-profile meeting constituency of Bhabanipur recorded a polling proportion of 53.32 % until 5 P.M. In Samserganj, it was 78.60% whereas in Jangipur it was 76.12%, in keeping with knowledge accessible from the Election Commission of India.

The voter turnout pattern was very low from the morning. It was solely 7.5 per cent at 9 am. Then again, the 2 different meeting constituencies of Jangipur in Murshidabad district and Samserganj recorded 17.5 and 16.3 per cent polling respectively,

The low voting pattern continued in the course of the day in Bhabanipur. At 1 PM, 35.97 % polling was reported in Bhabanipur whereas it was a lot greater in Jangipur with 53.78 % and 57.15 % in Samserganj. In comparison with Jangipur and Samserganj, polling proportion in Bhabanipur was the bottom.

Polling in Bhabanipur meeting seat continued on the identical tempo, with 48.08 per cent turnout until 3 pm, EC officers mentioned. Whereas the polling proportion in Samserganj was 72.45 % and 68.17% in Jangipur.

In line with ballot observers, comparable developments have mirrored throughout 2011 and 2016. Round 61.72 polling p.c was reported in 2016 and in 2011 by-poll was even much less, one thing round 44.5%. “The voter turnout is decrease in by-poll regardless of Mamata Banerjee contesting the seat as they’re casting their vote for the second time. In case of Samserganj and Jangipur, polling didn’t happen,” a ballot analyst mentioned.

“The voter turnout pattern in Bhabanipur is usually very low. Everytime, it’s at all times round 50 per cent. We’ve got seen this earlier additionally,” Firhad Hakim, the state minister mentioned.

Trinamool candidate and West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee solid her poll at 3.15 PM in Mitra Establishment. Her nephew and Trinamool Nationwide normal secretary Abhisek Banerjee additionally solid his vote at present afternoon on the identical polling sales space.

In the meantime, polling was roughly peaceable in Bhabanipur Constituency by-poll besides just a few sporadic incidents. BJP chief Kalyan Chaubey was allegedly attacked by motorbike-borne miscreants and his automobile was vandalized close to Sales space No160 at St John’s Diocesan College.

“Few bike-borne miscreants gheraoed me close to Padmapukur they usually began hitting, punching and banging my automotive. They vandalized the automobile and I had a slim escape. We’ve got recognized faux voters voting peacefully with false voter slips at St John’s Diocesan College and Khalsa College. The assault was revenge that adopted,” Chaubey claimed.

In one other incident, stress erupted in Bhabanipur Constituency on Thursday afternoon as a faux voter was allegedly caught by BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal at Khalsa Excessive College within the Constituency.

After the alleged faux voter was recognized, scuffle broke out exterior the polling sales space between BJP and Trinamool employees. The voter claimed that he was a resident of Bansdroni however was not carrying any id proof. Additional Central drive deployment was completed at Khalsa Excessive College to manage the scenario. Grievance was lodged by the BJP has been lodged in EC. The Election Commision mentioned that they’re maintaining a watch on the incident.

“Aside from Khalsa, there’s an try and sales space jamming in different places by Trinamool MLA Madan Mitra,” BJP candidate Priyanka Tibrewal claimed.

“The Police didn’t take any motion was a silent onlooker to the incident. He didn’t take any motion in opposition to the faux voter. One Gurmeet Singh, who’s Trinamool Hindi cell secretary, got here to the faux voter’s rescue and helped him to go away the varsity premises,” BJP leaders claimed.

BJP alleged large rigging at Ramesh Mitra College and Bhawanipur Schooling Society as effectively.

BJP additionally alleged that Trinamool chief Sayandeb Chattopadhyay took images contained in the polling sales space after casting vote and had posted in social media. Nevertheless, Trinamool Minister Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay denied such allegations.

Trinamool Congress has complained to EC about Priyanka Tibrewal transferring across the Constituency with a convoy of 20 autos, disrupting the polling course of.

The polling started at 7 a.m. within the morning. The election was necessitated after Trinamool MLA Sobhandeb Chattopadhyay vacated the Bhabanipur seat for Mamata Banerjee. The votes will probably be counted on October 3.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here